My Kitchen From Scratch

Peranakan-Style Sambal Udang Kering (Sambal Heh Bee)

Posted on: January 20, 2011

Peranakan-Style Sambal Udang Kering (Sambal Heh Bee)

Some of my fondest childhood memories revolves around me and my grandmother who used to bring me to a nearby restaurant off Jalan Loke Yew. They served one of the best nasi lemak I have ever had. If you are familiar with the dish, it comes with a classic spicy tamarind-chilli paste called sambal. It is very intense and because of my young age, the seller decided that I should have some sambal udang kering in lieu of the real thing. It has a milder kick to it but it is bursting with toasty prawn flavor that kept me asking for more.

Sambal udang kering is a good example of a Peranakan-style condiment. It is essentially a Malay-Chinese fusion, blending the Malay’s passion for everything spicy and the Chinese’s love for dried pungent seafood. I have been wondering how to make this until I came across a book called “Nonya Flavours” that has an excellent compilation of Peranakan recipes. It really is a melange of chilli, shallots, and tiny dried prawns, slowly roasted in a wok until slightly dried and caramelized. The result is absolutely divine and it goes well with noodles, rice, and just about anything you can think of.

Ingredients:

  • 150g fresh chillies
  • 200g peeled shallots
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 150ml cooking oil
  • 300g dried prawns, soaked till soft
  • 2 tbsp tamarind juice
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt

Method:

  1. Blend chillies, garlic, and shallots in a food processor until a medium fine minced paste consistency. Reserve in a bowl. Blend dried prawns until coarsely/finely ground depending on your preference. It doesn’t have to be perfect because I left in some larger chunks of dried prawns for some texture.
  2. Fry chilli paste, dried prawns, tamarind juice, sugar, and salt with oil until slightly dry under medium low heat while stirring constantly. Don’t skimp on the oil. If it’s dry, add a little more just enough to wet the paste. You don’t want too much that the paste is submerged in it.
  3. After the water mostly evaporated, check the taste and texture and adjust accordingly. Some people like a wetter paste but some like it dry like mine. Most importantly, be patient because the paste takes time to roast and caramelized. It took me about 45 minutes to an hour.
  4. Once done, let cool and store in a jar. It can last for a long time in the refrigerator.

(recipe adapted from “Nonya Flavours – A complete guide to Penang Straits Chinese Cuisine” by The Star Publications)

Final Notes

  1. Your whole house would smell like sambal udang kering for a few days. I would recommend that you double the recipe since it is time consuming and it’s going to smell less for double the portions.
  2. Did I say it’s going to smell?

Bookmark and Share

8 Responses to "Peranakan-Style Sambal Udang Kering (Sambal Heh Bee)"

I’m really hungry now and this looks very nice to me now…

Thanks, if you like pungent seafood, you would love this!

This looks really delicious. I really miss this. I have to cook it some time.

Mary, thanks for visiting! Sambal heh bee smells amazing in the kitchen. If you ended up making it, let me know how it goes.

[...] me to eat nasi lemak off Loke Yew Road. They substituted the spicy sambal tumis with the milder sambal heh bee for children. Now that I am an adult, I love it prepared the way it should [...]

Wow, this looks amazing! I’d like to try it someday :)
Do you normally eat this with nasi lemak?? I love Malaysian food! :) Nice job.

Hello Cindy, thanks! You can eat this with nasi lemak or as an accompaniment to your meal. It is delicious! I just went to Indonesia and I have had a wonderful culinary journey there.

will be trying this in the next few weeks.. i hope i get everything right.. cheers to all food lovers!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Golden Gate Bridge


Hi, my name is Kwokmun Lee. Learn more about me and my site here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 118 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Traffic

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

