My Kitchen From Scratch

The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants

Posted on: April 22, 2012

The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants

I have always wanted to wake up to the smell of freshly baked buttery croissants and good coffee.  So I was crazy enough to attempt making croissant dough on a Sunday so that I could wake up early on Monday morning to shape and bake croissants in time for breakfast. It’s really difficult to make croissants very well. To start, you have to laminate yeast dough with butter, lots of butter. But the problem is, you have to make sure the butter is cold enough between each lamination. I was not patient enough and the thin layers of butter began to melt and was squeezing out of the dough. It was just messy! It turned out alright though despite their irregular sizes and slightly burnt bottom. It was hours of hard work but the smell of butter was worth it!

Ingredients:

Recipe adapted from Gourmet in October 2000.

Method:

The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants

  1. Start with a yeast dough and roll it out like a rectangle.
  2. Arrange slabs of very cold butter in the middle.
  3. Fold the dough to enclose the butter.

The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants

  1. Turn 45 degrees.
  2. Roll out into a rectangle.
  3. Fold again to laminate.
  4. Wrap dough and let it chill for at least 1 hour.
  5. Repeat steps 4-7 several times, per the recipe.

The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants

  1. Let the dough proof overnight in the fridge.
  2. Roll out the dough, cut and shape per recipe.
  3. Let the shaped croissants proof again in the fridge.
  4. Bake at 425 F until golden brown.

The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants

6 Responses to "The Not So Perfect Buttery Croissants"

they may not be perfect, but they are beautiful. They must also taste damn good :D

Thanks, at least they puffed up like they are suppose to.

I bet they were tasty! If you want a recipe for perfect croissants, try the Tartine cookbook. It’s by a small bakery in the mission in San Fran, you may have heard of it. I followed their meticulous instructions and had perfect results first try.

I’ve heard of them and in fact I was having lunch a block away from them when I was in San Francisco. I am going to bookmark their book on Amazon. I didn’t even know they have a book. =)

The croissants sure are beautiful…I have never made croissants, but I have made french bread from scratch, which was also a very challenging venture, so I completely understand;-)

[...] I think about croissants, I thought about the nightmares I had fixing the dough as the layers of butter started to squirt out as I am laminating. Oh, not to [...]

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Golden Gate Bridge


Hi, my name is Kwokmun Lee. Learn more about me and my site here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 118 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Traffic

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

