My Kitchen From Scratch

Middle Eastern Kibbeh & Yogurt Sauce

Posted on: May 25, 2012

Middle Eastern Kibbeh & Yogurt Sauce

I’ve personally overlooked Middle Eastern cuisine until recently when I realized how amazing they can be. It’s certainly more than just doner kebabs or falafels. I’ve also noticed how similar some of the spices Middle Easterners use compared to say, Indian or Mexican cuisine: cumin, coriander, cloves, paprika and caraway seeds to mention a few. Of course, they have their native spices as well, such as sumac, grains of paradise, and dukkah but I think it’s the way they combine these spices and certain ingredients that makes their cuisine so unique.

The inspiration for this snack is from a yogurt soup that I had a month or two ago that was served with kibbeh, which are fried Middle Eastern meatballs. The idea of making soup with yogurt is brilliant but since I don’t have any stock in my fridge, I am just not going to be bothered. The kibbeh would still be delicious when served with a thick garlic yogurt sauce. I don’t usually like low fat North American yogurt that is mostly water but I’ve came across a Canadian made Greek style yogurt called Krema made by Olympic Dairy and it is so creamy! No wonder it’s thick and rich because Krema has 11% fat. I could also have stuffed the kibbeh with nuts, spiced meat and aromatics but since it’s a lazy Sunday, I wanted to keep it very simple. =)

Kibbeh

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup fine bulgur
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 200 g ground beef
  • 3 tbsp fine chopped shallots
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp harissa
  • 2 tbsp parsley, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt/pepper
  • oil for frying

Method:

  1. Soak bulgur with water until completely absorbed.
  2. Mix ground beef with bulgur and the rest of the spices, herbs and seasoning.
  3. Let it sit in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  4. Form mixture into American football-shaped meat balls.
  5. Deep fry meatballs until completely cooked and nicely browned on the outside.
  6. Serve kibbeh with yogurt sauce.

Yogurt Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup thick yogurt
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • lemon juice
  • salt/pepper

Method:

  1. Mix yogurt and garlic together and adjust seasoning with lemon juice, salt and pepper.
  2. Serve sauce with kibbeh.
7 Responses to "Middle Eastern Kibbeh & Yogurt Sauce"

This is one of my favorite Middle Eastern treats…it’s one of the delights my Muslim friends introduced me to back in the day. Have you ever had labna? That is a yogurt based dip popular in Middle Eastern cuisine…good mixed with olives and pita for dipping…yum!

I have not had labna but it’s very easy to make, which is pretty much strained yogurt. I’ve strained yogurt before but not to labna consistency.

Kibbeh is one of the yummiest meals famous here in Lebanon! :) I’m so glad you liked it!

Best,
Hiba
http://www.cloudoflace.com

I heard kibbeh nayyeh is popular in Lebanon as well. I would love to try it someday.

It sure is! We just had one for lunch, alongside some Lebanese BBQ :) nayyeh is popular with our traditional drink, the Arak :) Come try it here in Lebanon!

I love kibbeh! I’ve never thought to make them from scratch.

You should, I still can’t believe how simple kibbeh is.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Golden Gate Bridge


Hi, my name is Kwokmun Lee. Learn more about me and my site here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Traffic

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

