My Kitchen From Scratch

Jamie Oliver’s Toad in the Hole

Posted on: July 12, 2012

Toad in the Hole

I made a version of toad in the hole many months ago using Jamie Oliver’s Yorkshire pudding batter recipe and it worked like magic. They puffed perfectly every single time as long as you don’t prematurely open the oven door. I did not however, make toad in the hole the proper way so to speak because I used sauteed button mushrooms from the farmers market in lieu of the bangers. They are still quite delicious regardless but I didn’t make the real deal.

This time, I’ve got some lean sausages from the store. So I decided to revisit the toad in the hole recipe. Alright, they are not British bangers but it’s hard to find them in my neighbourhood. I think sometimes it is okay to lighten up a dish a little bit because when I think about how much fat I consume everyday, I find the results quite alarming. A regular sausage has about 20 grams of fat but mine only has 5 grams of fat and they pack in a tonne of flavour.

I served my toad in the hole with some peas and some homemade onion gravy. The gravy is actually quite easy to make. All you need is to caramelised some onions, cook it down with some beef stock or just water and thicken with corn starch or roux.

Ingredients:

  • 115g plain flour (1 cup)
  • 285ml milk (1 1/4 cups)
  • 3 eggs
  • pinch of salt
  • 6 lean sausages, fully cooked
  • olive oil/canola oil

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to the highest possible setting, in most cases it’s 450 F.
  2. Mix flour, milk, eggs and salt into a batter and let it sit for at least 30 minutes in the fridge.
  3. In a casserole dish, pour some canola oil and pop it in the oven until it began to smoke or until oil is very hot.
  4. Pour batter into the dish and carefully arrange the sausages in the middle.
  5. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes until the toad in the hole is puffy. Do not open the oven door before the 15 minutes mark.
  6. Serve toad in the hole with onion gravy and some peas.

(adapted from Kitchen Shift by Holly O’Neill/Jamie Oliver, Jamie Oliver magazine Dec 09/Jan 10 issue & Yorkshire Pudding by Jamie Oliver, Jamie’s Food Revolution, 2009)

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Golden Gate Bridge


Hi, my name is Kwokmun Lee. Learn more about me and my site here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Traffic

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

