My Kitchen From Scratch

Miang Kham (Wild Betel Leaf Wraps)

Posted on: June 1, 2010

Miang Kham (Wild Betel Leaf Wraps)

When I first had miang kham at ChuChai in Montreal, I was sold after the first bite. It’s the perfect mixture of all the lovely flavors: sour and bitter from the limes, peppery from the leaves, spicy from the ginger and red chilis, savory from the dried shrimps, and sweet from the palm sugar and shallots. The result was simply phenomenal! I didn’t know what was in it at first but after much research, I believe I have found a excellent recipe from Real Thai Recipes. I made it at my house warming party and everyone loves it. Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients:

Condiments

  • shallots, diced small
  • ginger, as young as possible, diced small
  • red chilli, diced small
  • lime, cut into 8 wedges (rind intact) then sliced very thinly crosswise
  • fresh/frozen coconut, scraped and toasted
  • crushed peanuts
  • dried shrimps, soaked for 5 minutes (optional)
  • wild betel leaves (Piper sarmentosum, also known as lá lốt in Vietnamese and cha plu in Thai)

Sauce

  • 200g Thai palm sugar
  • 2 tbsp shallots, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2-3 tbsp toasted coconut

Method:

  1. Simmer all the ingredients for the sauce except the coconut until the consistency is somewhat syrupy. Remove from heat and add the coconut. Stir and let cool.
  2. To assemble, take a wild betel leaf and put a little bit of everything. Drizzle with the sauce.
  3. Wrap the filling lengthwise, starting from the sides first and then complete the wrap from the remaining sides.
  4. Eat it in ONE BITE.

(recipe adapted from “Leaf Wrapped Snack – mieng kham” by Real Thai Recipes)

Final Notes:

  1. Remember that syrup becomes thicker when cooled. It might look watery when you turned off the heat but it will be more syrupy after an hour or so. The sauce should drizzle like pure maple syrup.
  2. Only a tiny bit of each ingredient is needed on each leaf (about 1/8 teaspoon). Final ingredient quantities depend on the number of servings.

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to "Miang Kham (Wild Betel Leaf Wraps)"

I’ve missed this yummy snack so much. I couldn’t find cha plu anywhere in this country. The picture looks wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

You’re welcome, Tes! It’s hard to find cha plu here as well but I was lucky to find a Vietnamese grocery that sells it near my place. This is one of my all time favorite Thai snack.

I was a surprisingly good couple bite appetizer. Our guests enjoyed not only eating it, but also putting it together.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Golden Gate Bridge


Hi, my name is Kwokmun Lee. Learn more about me and my site here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Traffic

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

